Kibou

First and foremost, my heartfelt condolences for the nation of Japan in the midst of their recovery from the recent quakes and tsunami. Most of my time spent this weekend was watching NHK newscasts and reading reports on what unfolded, and I was quite taken aback by some of the photos and video. As easy as it was to feel rather emotional for all that transpired, it’s also important to recognize the strength of the nation in their time of recovery. My thoughts and prayers to my friend Erik and his family and friends out there, as well as to all of Japan as they continue forward with their lives.

Credits for the above image go to Noizi Ito, illustrator for the Haruhi Suzumiya light novel series, who drew Haruhi extending her own prayers and well wishes. I thought it was so thoughtfully done that I decided to use it as my iPhone wallpaper as a reminder to keep up hope for the nation. It’s also interesting to see Haruhi drawn in such a light since her usual personality is rather extravagant and full of flare. A tame Haruhi wouldn’t hurt from time to time.

As for me, I’ll be heading to Las Vegas for a business trip until Wednesday evening, so my plans to get caught up with the shows I’m following will be further delayed until later this week. I’m thankful to at least have the tools to get anime onto my iPhone so I can at least catch up on some shows I’ve been putting off for a while but always wanted to get into, i.e. Dragon Crisis! A little bit of the tenth episode of Yumekui Merry was also a nice treat this morning (as you can see from how late/early the time was on my phone above), so I’ll definitely be giving my two cents when I return on how the show’s been unfolding so far.

~

When you’ve suffered enough / and your spirit is breaking
you’re growing desperate from the fight
Remember you’re loved / and you always will be
This melody will bring you right back home

Leave a Reply

