Random Desk Series: Logitech Wireless Solar Keyboard K750 + HMO Hatsune Miku!

Logitech Wireless Solar Keyboard K750 + HMO Hatsune Miku (4 of 4)

I decided to switch keyboards out recently in favor of something more lightweight, compact, and functional to my needs as a blogger/photographer nowadays. Come check out what Logitech had me sold on, as well as why Hatsune Miku is also as thrilled as I am to be posing next to it.

8-28-11 LogiK750-1636 (2 of 4)

As if I wasn’t already inundated with backlogged sessions of processing photos of some recent adventures of mine, here comes yet another break before I get around to them! This time around, Random Desk Series takes a look at some computer gear I recently acquired, whereas the figures come second in this feature. My new weapon of choice for computing input: Logitech’s Wireless Solar Keyboard K750! Among the official list of advantages this keyboard has for what I use it for:

8-28-11 LogiK750-1638 (3 of 4)

Solar panels: means no more having to worry about batteries or USB charging cables to restore power after days/weeks/months of usage. So far, I’ve tested this with the same model keyboard in the strictly fluorescent lighting of our office demo room. The results are still amazing. At home, I have CFL to light the entire room and a strip of LEDs from Ikea illuminate the desk itself. The photo above shows about 90% LED light, yet the keyboard still charges. Amazing!

FN keys: Also displayed above are only some of the FN keys that many are accustomed to seeing on laptop keyboards. Volume controls, PC Sleep mode (which I use quite a bit since my boot drive is solid-state and takes heavy advantage of wake speed), calculator (when I calculate finances/budget outside of Excel), and music controls are all here and customizable for the most part via Logitech’s SetPoint software. Coming from Logitech’s older G15 keyboard (thanks to Chr), I’m unfortunately going to have to get accustomed to button mashing to adjust for volume as opposed to using the G15’s multi-functional scroll wheel. Perhaps this is what it’s like to switch from a Canon SLR body to a Nikon body? Hmm =)

Logitech Wireless Solar Keyboard K750 + HMO Hatsune Miku (1 of 4)

Chiclet-style, indented keys: Not to be grouped with the FN key description, my big reason for the change of input hardware was typing comfort. Each key is spread out and has just enough play upon press/depress, and the indentations help each of my fingers rest on the keys and accurately type the right ones. The keyboard closely resembles the type of keyboarding you’d expect from a laptop, but on a full-scale keyboard, which I’m way more comfortable with. The only other option I’d go with is a mechanical keyboard, but many of the keyboards I have seen don’t fit any of my criteria for compact and space-saving design.

2.4 GHz wireless / Unifying receiver: Aside from the traditional usages of a desktop keyboard, I like the ability to now be able to  transfer usage of this keyboard between the desktop and my laptop (which happens to have Logitech’s Anywhere MX mouse using the same unifying receiver technology). Whenever the laptop comes out for displaying anime on the big screen nearby, I can now use this keyboard as input for the laptop and do my computing from the comfort of my zabuton!

Thin!: Logitech claims the keyboard to be a third of an inch thick when its legs aren’t propped open to support the keyboard in the traditional, slanted manner that you see in the photos above. Still, this keyboard feels amazingly durable whether tilted up or laying flat on my desk surface. Aside from having the newer Mac keyboards, or going futuristic with touch-panel desk surfaces (i.e. the TRON series, or anything Industrial Light & Magic can get their hands onto animating on film), this keyboard is the closest you’ll get until the future catches up with us.

Final Thoughts: For being well under $100 USD and having the portability and longevity it totes, the Logitech Wireless Solar Keyboard K7500 was definitely a step in the right direction for my computing needs. Still, no keyboard is perfect. the gloss finish will probably be susceptible to easily recognizable dust accumulation even when using the enclosed cleaning cloth. Unlike my previous G15, none of the keys on the K750 are back-lit (which really isn’t an issue considering I have overheard LED lighting). And as I mentioned earlier, the sacrifice of the G15’s multi-function scroll wheel for the sake of FN keys is going to be missed quite a bit. Otherwise, the K750 solar keyboard is one of the best investments you can ever make if you’re simply looking for fast, efficient typing on a well designed, space-saving, ergonomic, and still highly functional full-QWERTY keyboard. Hatsune Miku approves.

Logitech’s website for more information on the keyboard here.

Figure by Good Smile Company. Featured figure: Nendoroid Miku Hatsune: Absolute HMO Edition.

2 thoughts on “Random Desk Series: Logitech Wireless Solar Keyboard K750 + HMO Hatsune Miku!

  1. Hello,
    Logitech is a client of ours and would love to hear more about how you use your solar keyboard, i.e. business, travel, gaming, also when and where is it the most beneficial. Please email me Lisa (at) channelmavenconsulting (dot) com.

    Thanks so much,
    Lisa

    • Email sent! Let me know if there’s anything else you’d like to know about my experiences so far.

      Let’s just say that, even after typing that email up, my hands still feel like they’ve not made any more than a couple of keystrokes! =)

Leave a Reply

