2011 Cherry Blossom Festival, Day 2 [Preview]

2011 Cherry Blossom Festival, Day 2 [Preview]: Shinkendo

I’m still picking away at the photos, so here are some teasers until (hopefully) tomorrow of the second day of festivities. Starting with the last display of cultural exhibition I witnessed before the festival ended, here’s a rather exhilarating look at Shinkendo – Japanese swordplay. The weapons used at first were wooden swords called ‘bokken’, and they are primarily used in practice.

I’m sure with enough force, you can whack someone pretty hard with a bokken and do some considerable damage!

2011 Cherry Blossom Festival, Day 2 [Preview]: Roshi

What’s a Japanese cultural festival (especially in America from what I can see) without some wholesome cosplay? I was most impressed by this rendition of Master Roshi, popularized by the Dragon Ball animated series. There’s nothing like a Street Figher cross-reference to get the crowd riled up.

2011 Cherry Blossom Festival, Day 2 [Preview]: Hanafuda

Have you ever watched a show or movie and became inspired to do something based on that show or movie? Well, Summer Wars did just that for Anthony and I. After the festival ended, we passed the time by heading to a (non-maid; sorry, haha) cafe for some drinks and some friendly rounds of Hanafuda. Despite not playing mahjong, my vague understanding of that game helps me to compare the tile artwork you see above. Match the seasons, grab some points, and yell out ‘koi-koi’ in order to raise your multiplier and win big points! We’re still trying to figure out how to play the game fully. Perhaps when we figure it out, I’ll post an entry dedicated just to playing Hanafuda and how you can learn too!

2011 Cherry Blossom Festival, Day 2 [Preview]: Business Cards

Through Anthony, I also made some new friends! I actually ran into a few like Boon and Yuki over at this year’s Anime Expo, but I didn’t get a chance to actually spend some time to talk to them because of the crazy scheduling of the convention. This past weekend, we got to hang out for a bit longer and trade contact info. As you can see from the photo above, Boon has kept my card since I gave it to him at AX and decided to show that he still has it with him. Thanks, Boon! It’s nice to see networking work after some time. Heck, my card even survived Danny Choo‘s return from LA to Japan and found its way into a pile on his desk! Honored much? I sure am.

2011 Cherry Blossom Festival, Day 2 [Preview]: Nikon Yuki

Lastly, here’s a photo of Yuki (using Boon’s camera) during our post-festival musings at the local Yogurtland. V for a victorious day of fun, laughter, photos, and food? I’d say so.

More festival photos and a more detailed writeup to follow in the next few hours or so!

Leave a Reply

