Reflection: Progress

Light At The End Of The Tunnel

It has been a month since I traversed Maui’s lava tubes and reflected on my previous journeys through dark caves with close friends. Many personal things have taken place, some good and some bad; some exciting and some devastating. The light at the end of today’s tunnel is not the same kind of light I found back then, nor will it ever feel the same again in future travels. If there is one thing my poetically mind has taught me, it is that in these periods of intense self reflection is where I usually wind up seeing my most darkest moments turn into blinding bouts of realization and perseverance. I am at a stage in my life and career where I am beginning to plan great things in the midst of running into seemingly overwhelming challenges. Where the next thirty days will lead me is something I can only hope to be at least less rocky than the last thirty. Deadlines have past and are now overdue, projects are behind and have yet to be restarted, and opportunities for learning and growth are now being compounded to the point where late night hours spent studying are now becoming a necessity. What is this, college all over again?

I definitely feel a sense of complacency in my drive and direction for success. Perhaps I am overwhelmed with the amount of opportunity bestowed upon me; or perhaps the great burden I could be facing soon. All I can really say right now is that despite the giant side steps I’ve had to take in the past few weeks, I know that I’m still closer today than I was yesterday to climbing out of that tunnel and being on the surface once again. And once I catch that warm sun, feel the perspiration of my efforts, and reap the rewards of trusting the unknown, I will be able to mold myself back into something greater than yesterday’s premonitions.

Thanks again to everyone’s support the past couple of weeks. I look forward to releasing more content again for everyone, including myself, to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

