New Layout! Giant Robots! Big(ger) Photos!

aldnoahzero-officialpromo

Hot off the heels of my excitement for this summer anime season’s lineup is a brand new show featuring mecha, a ragtag team of civilian high school students showing their tactical superiority in dire situations that military personnel just can’t measure up to, and a brand new site layout for a blog that was begging to be redone since maybe two years ago. Why the change, you ask? Well, for starters, dynamic layouts (sites that change layouts depending on the device or browser window size viewed on) were just starting to gain functionality and popularity when I started this blog. Secondly, I’ve been wanting to get back into writing again, specifically about the summer 2014 anime season, and what better way to kick-start new content than to refresh the interface?

There are a handful of items that need to be scrubbed and re-arranged, like streamlining what’s in the the sidebar (which is still on the left side), choosing proper background photos for each page, and updating the size of photos in blog posts that link to my flickr profile. Truth be told, this interface is actually geared toward restaurants (hey, maybe I can post a price sheet PDF for my photography services!), but the WordPress demo impressed me with the ability to create static child/parent pages with unique, featured photo backgrounds that, once again, scale to the size of a browser window or mobile device screen resolution. The more customized child/parent page functionality is important for my content as this will allow me to partition my entire WordPress profile into a landing page that leads visitors to either my anime blog or my photography portfolio, which was the original intent of this site to begin with.

So, there is no doubt that this is a work-in-progress, but I think I’m going to have a lot of fun revamping everything. Like the high school characters in the promo poster for Aldnoah.Zero above, I can’t wait to get my hands and knees dirty to bring this site back to having consistent content! To the newcomers and even those that still visit my site, thanks for stopping by, sticking around, and checking out my posts! More photos, anime reviews, and random shenanigans to come!

Leave a Reply

